I’ve received an email about another company purchasing variations of my domain name
Numerous clients have contacted us regarding emails they have received from foreign companies notifying them that another company is about to purchase variations of their domain name. These emails are intended to scare you into thinking that another company is about to purchase domain names similar to yours to market a competing product and service. In most cases these claims are completely false and should just be ignored. If you are concerned, however, and would like to purchase the domain names, please make sure that you contact us or another honest company you can trust to assist you in purchasing them. We typically suggest that these emails be ignored, however.
Here's an example of an email recently received by one of our clients:
From: robinson [mailto:robinson@china-shk.com]
Subject: Domain Name Disputes(If you are not in charge of this please transfer this urgent email to your CEO, thanks.)
Dear Manager,
We are a company of Domain registration service in China,have something need to confirm with you.We formally received an application on April.22.2010.One company which called "DM Investment Co. LTD" are applying to register " lifebackenterprises " as NET brand and Domains.
lifebackenterprises.asia
lifebackenterprises.cn
lifebackenterprises.com.cn
lifebackenterprises.com.hk
lifebackenterprises.com.tw
lifebackenterprises.hk
lifebackenterprises.in
lifebackenterprises.net.cn
lifebackenterprises.tw
But we find that "DM Investment Co. LTD" is not the original owner of the brand and trademark in the checking period,which belong to your company.so I need confirm with you .whether your company authorized that company to register these domain names.If you have done that,We will finish the registration for them and link to their website.
If not ,please let me know ASAP.
In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 7 workdays.If your company files have no dissent within those days,we will unconditionally approve the application.
Best Regards,Robinson
Robinson Zhou
senior consultant
Address: Room 201, No.45,Building 14, Pujiang Garden,
Lane 303 Huhang Highway,Fengxian District,Shanghai. 201401
Tel: 0086-21-67150255
Fax: 0086-21-67150255
info@china-shengke.com
www.china-shk.com